Homemade 1 ingredient Banana Icecream

I’ve gotten tons of requests for this recipe and I just made it for the first time last night! So, the wait is over, here it is!

I had been reading several different blogs about an online banana soft-serve craze. Everyone who wrote about it said things like “I can’t believe I’ve been living this long without this!” “I can’t believe how good this is!” “How did I not hear about this sooner?!” – and I am going to add to that: I have never in my life been more amazed in the kitchen – good or bad.

You will need:

  • At least 1 banana (I recommend at least 2)

…. that’s it! No seriously, really, that’s it!

The Process:

  • Peel and cut your banana(s) in to bite-sized pieces.
  • Throw in a freezer bag, pop in the freezer, and freeze for at least 3 hours, but as long as a few weeks. So next time bananas are on sale or you realize you won’t be able to finish a bunch before they go bad, freeze ’em!
  • Once frozen, remove from freezer and freezer bag, throw them in your food processor (or blender) and mix for 4-5 minutes (the time with vary based on how big your processor is and how many bananas)

 

Half-way through I was concerned, because this is what it looked like:

Looks like chopped garlic, no? I was skeptical. But I mixed it up a little and kept processing.

I watched it whirl around in the processor and soon enough it started to look creamy – exactly like ice cream!

 

Try and tell me this doesn’t look like ice cream! πŸ™‚

That’s really it! Frozen bananas thrown in the food processor!

I had read somewhere that adding a little vanilla extract was a good idea, but it made mine too sweet. I also added a little coconut which was AWESOME! and later a little Sugar Free Chocolate Syrup.

My suggestions:

Start with at least 2 bananas, freeze them, blend until creamy, then taste. After tasting, decide if you want it a little sweeter (add vanilla) or if you want to throw some other fruits in, or top with chocolate.

Next time I’m going to freeze my bananas sooner, because the more ripe they are, the sweeter they are. This way it will be a little less sweet and I can add coconut, raspberries or chocolate syrup depending on my mood.

I have honestly never been so amazed in the kitchen and boy was pleasantly surprised! If you like bananas, this is a MUST TRY!

Cheap, quick, easy, endless possibilities. No excuses!

PLUS: gluten-free, low sugar, dairy-free, soy-free … is anyone really allergic to bananas? Probably, but I don’t know anyone. Go for it!

Try it and let me know how it goes πŸ™‚

 

 

6 thoughts on “Homemade 1 ingredient Banana Icecream

  1. Yum! It’s really good if you add a little pumpkin and cinnamon! Or some frozen strawberries, or pineapple! There’s so many ways to spruce up the banana softserve! πŸ™‚

    P.S. Love the new blog!!

  2. UMMM this sounds amazing!!! It’s even easy enough for ME to make! I will definitely be making this. My mom recently bought an ice cream maker and now when I go home I’m going to tell her that this idea is even better:) Those bananas I bought Sunday are going right in the freezer tonight.

    • Britt,
      The second I read this post I immediately chopped up 2 bananas and threw them in the freezer. Today I finally got to try out this crazy concept.. and like you said, it was AMAZINGGGG!!! I was worried that it would taste too banana-y, which I’m not always the hugest banana fan, but it wasn’t at all! And the consistency was incredible – I couldn’t believe something that felt and tasted so much like frozen yogurt came from only 2 BANANAS! I am obsessed with this new healthy dessert! Thanks Britt, love ya!!

  3. I just want to tell you that I’m very new to blogs and actually savored this web blog. Very likely I’m planning to bookmark your blog . You actually come with fabulous posts. Thank you for sharing your webpage.

Leave a Reply

