Quinoa Crazy! and I love homogeneous mixtures!

So as you know I recently tried quinoa for the first time. Similar to pasta and rice, it’s fine on its own, but works better with a sauce or other ingredients mixed in with it. So this past week I messed around with different ideas getting inspiration from couscous recipes and other things I found on the glorious word wide web.

I have come to realize that I love homogeneous mixtures. Just in case, homogeneous means “consisting of parts all of the same kind” (the trusty mac dictionary). When talking about food, to me it means taking bites that are all similar – so all kinds of ingredients mixed up in to some kind of tasty goodness.

This came as a little bit of a shock to my awareness since as a kid I refused to allow any of my foods to touch. And I would eat one at a time, saving the best for last. AND I yell at my boyfriend from time to time for including more than one of each of my carefully crafted sides in one bite. But I have apparently been converted, because mixtures seem to be my thing now-a-days.

Here are some examples:

One morning I tried quinoa with scrambled eggs and tomato.

Non-stick spray
1 c. cooked quinoa
2 eggs
1/2 small tomato
Salt and pepper to taste

Once the pan is hot, add the cooked quina, leaving an open circle in the center of the pan.
Crack eggs in to the opening and break yolk with your spatula.
Add tomatos around the edges.
Once the eggs start to firm up, use the spatula to scramble and mix ingredients.

In the pan before plating.
All broken up in my homogeneous mixture!
Room-temp quinoa salad with tomatoes, cucumbers, red onion, red wine vinegar, and hummus

This was good, but too much red onion. Here is a modified recipe from what I used that I think would be better:

1 c. cooked Quinoa
1/2 c. cucumbers
1/4 c. tomatoes
1/8 c. red onion
2 T. hummus (I used Marketside Roasted Garlic – my new fave hummus!)
1 t. red wine vinegar

Mix ingredients, let them sit to reach room temperature, and enjoy! 🙂

so many fresh flavors 🙂
Quinoa with meatballs and tomato sauce

1 c. cooked quinoa
2 homemade meat balls (mom’s! 🙂 )
1/2 c. tomato sauce
1 t. parmesan cheese

Heat ingredients (except for the cheese) separately until they reach desired temperature, then mix, top with parmesan and enjoy! 🙂

Quinoa with tomato sauce is probably my favorite way to eat it so far (although I really did enjoy all of these combinations!) This is a great way to enjoy an old favorite for anyone who is gluten-free! Plus it would be easy to make both quinoa and pasta and allow your guests to choose.

before mxing..
tastes way better than it looks, promise!
2 thoughts on “Quinoa Crazy! and I love homogeneous mixtures!

  1. Pingback: Thai Peanut Chicken & Veggies « eat something new

  2. Pingback: Heterogeneous Omelet « eat something new

Leave a Reply

