Healthy_Chick’s Chili!

So I have this crockpot since my mom had an extra and I have been wanting to use it so badly. I had been waiting for cooler weather and a good recipe.

I wanted to make my own chili because I would rather use turkey meat and want to make it thick and chunky with tons of vegetables. No joke, only 2 days after I began my hunt for the perfect chili recipe, Rachel, the Healthy_Chick posted her recipe for chili on Twitter.

It sounded great, a little non-traditional, but still great so I just had to try it!

I headed to the grocery store and picked up all of the ingredients:

  • 1 package of lean, ground turkey meat (already had it in the freezer)
  • 14 oz. of crushed tomatoes (I had a 28 oz can so naturally I used 1/2)
  • 2 tiny 8oz. cans of tomato sauce
  • 1 giant yellow onion
  • 1 red pepper
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 1 jalapeno pepper
  • 1 orange pepper (I added this one in)
  • Olive oil (about 2 T.)
  • 2 T. Chili Powder
  • 1 T. Cumin

Then I got to cooking:

  • Spray a large pan or skillet with non-stick spray and preheat.
  • Once heated add the turkey meat. Break up occasionally and cook until all of the meat is that brownish, grayish color and there are no pink or red spots.
  • While that is cooking you can preheat a large pot & go  twice around with olive oil (about 2 T. if you want to measure).
  • While that preheats, chop the red and orange peppers, onion, jalapeno pepper and garlic. I prefer small pieces, but make them as small or large as you like.
  • Add them to the pot. It is easiest to keep an eye on them when you add them all at once. You want to cook this veggie mixture until they are tender and the onions are nearly translucent.
  • Next drain the corn and beans, also rinsing the beans.
  • Add the crushed tomatoes, tomato sauce, corn & beans.
  • Stir and cook while the meat finishes cooking.
  • Once the meat is ready, drain the oil, break up the meat in to small pieces and add to the pot.
  • Now add your chili powder & cumin and mix thoroughly.
  • Cover and let simmer on low heat for about an hour.

 

The Results:

Unreal. I think I tweeted  @Rachel (@Healthy_Chicks)  immediately. I honestly absolutely loved it! Next time, just to try something new*, I think I’ll sub kidney beans for the black beans and skip the corn (only b/c I’m  eating it with pasta – no need for double starch over here). I really loved it, served it to a friend, and then ate it 4 more times once a day for 4 days in a row. AND I have some in the freezer (that I’m bringing home for mom to try this weekend!). It was a real success. This girl knows what she’s doing! (In fact, she wrote a cook book and next pay day, I’m ordering one!)

 

Side note: Other than our occasional tweets and what I know from her blog, I do not know Rachel. So this is a completely honest review of her recipe. I really did love it!

 

Serving suggestion:

Annie’s Organic White Shells and Cheddar. Personally I think they make the perfect duo! The hot, spicy chili goes great with a little cheesey pasta. Much more flavorful (and healthier for you – I use almond milk and only a tiny bit of BestLife Buttery Spread) than rice or adding tons of shredded cheese on the top.



Substitutions:

If you like different colored peppers, aren’t a fan of corn, or prefer kidney beans, make the swap! That’s the good thing about chili – once you make it once and know how to do it, you can change it up any which way you want 🙂

What about the crockpot you ask? Yeah, this recipe didn’t call for it so I didn’t use it. Oh, well! The chili was AWESOME and I’ll just have to keep looking for a good crock-pot recipe. If you have any, please share! 🙂

 

Gadget: Those of you who have been reading know that I just LOVE my kitchen tools and gadgets. The one I used this time that I just loved and have used severalllll times since, is …. I have no idea what it is called. It clips on to the side of a pan or pot and holds your spoon/spatula/tongs/etc. rather than setting it on the counter and getting it all dirty/contaminated. Check it out:

Do you make your own chili? What are your favorite ingredients? What kind of meat do you use?

 

6 thoughts on “Healthy_Chick’s Chili!

    • I got it for Christmas from my mom (along with some other great gadgets!) I’m not sure where she got it, but it is “Martha Stewart” brand – so they probably have it at Kmart and/or Macy’s! 🙂 Target also has a ton of great gadgets so they may have a similar one. Hope that helps! 😀 And it DEFINITELY makes my life easier!

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Berry Green Smoothie! « eat something new

Leave a Reply

