Heterogeneous Omelet

I’ve been talking a lot lately about my love for homogeneous mixtures (if you need catch up, you can read about it here, and here).

Tonight after night class I needed to make dinner. I was feeling a little high on life (and caffeine), felt a little rushed since it was 9:15 pm and was craving food in general – but I didn’t want to binge or splurge. So, once again, I checked out what I had in the fridge and the cabinet and decided to whip up an omelet. And it wound up be rather heterogeneous, especially compared to my more recent posts!

What I used:

  • 1 whole egg, 2 egg whites
  • 1 tablespoon almond milk
  • 1 handful spinach
  • 1 small tomato, chopped
  • about 1/4 c. low fat cottage cheese
  • 2 pinches of garlic powder
  • salt & pepper to taste

What I did:

First I whisked the eggs and almond milk together until frothy.

  • Then I added it to a preheated/sprayed pan.
  • I sprinkled the mixture with 2 pinches of garlic powder.

 

 

Cooked until firm on the bottom and around the edges. Flipped.

  • Once almost completely cooked I moved it to a plate, topped with the cottage cheese, and folded it over so the that steam would “melt” the cheese.

 

 

Next I threw the spinach and the diced tomato to the same pan until heated through.

  • I re-opened the omelet and added the tomato and spinach.

 

 

 

 

Then closed it back up and transferred it back to the pan.

  • Once heated on both sides I plated it and was ready to go!

 

 

 

The results: I give it a 5 out of 10. It wasn’t terrible, but definitely not the best. I am full though, and I didn’t binge or splurge and got some veggies in there, so definitely not a total loss. I originally planned to use garlic & herb laughing cow, but I wanted to use up the cottage cheese and try something completely new. Should have gone with my gut and stuck with the laughing cow! (It never lets me down!). Next time I’ll do everything the same, except skip the cottage cheese and spread laughing cow on top. And I still think I prefer homogeneous omelets where all of the ingredients are whipped with the eggs and cooked together!

Coming Attractions: What I REALLY want to try is to make a frittata. I’ve never done it before and am really looking forward to it! 🙂 That will be coming up, so keep a look out!

Interesting side note: I’m constantly questioning my spelling since grammar and mechanics mistakes make me crazy. You know how if you look at a word for too long it starts to look funny and you no longer have any idea how to spell it? Well that happened for me with the word “omelet” … or “omelette” – apparently both are correct even though my Mac’s automatic spell check is telling me that the latter is incorrect. Good to know!

How do we like the new format with the thumbnail pictures for each step of the process? I think I like it!  But what about you guys?!

Do you have a go-to quick meal? I’d love to hear about it!

4 thoughts on “Heterogeneous Omelet

  1. Yum! This sounds really good for any time of day. I never knew if when cooking omelets you should heat up/cook the veggies beforehand or if you could just throw them in the omelet as is… but now I know! I would definitely throw some feta cheese in there (not as healthy as cottage cheese, oh wellll) but the Laughing Cow also sounds like a delicious option.

  2. Fat free feta can be a healthy decision, too! Presidente brand Fat Free Feta is my favorite! I use it all the time and no one ever notices that the fat is missing 🙂

    And I prefer to cook the veggies before hand because they have a slightly different flavor when cooked (especially spinach, mushrooms, and onions). But I also like it best when I cook the veggies, then mix with the egg and pour it in to the pan already mixed up. 🙂

  3. Before reading your blogs, I use to think cooking had to be a long drawn out all day project. You make it seem fun easy and most important delicious (I appreciate your honesty). I have been looking for some new recepies and you have a few that I am going to try. Thank You

Leave a Reply

