Fancy No-Fuss Frittata

I love having dinner guests, breakfast guests, lunch guests, snack guests – whatever-kind-of-meal-guests! Hosting homecoming and other college holidays has led me to host a few large-party breakfasts. In the past I’ve gone with pancakes – cheap, quick, easy. Right? Wrong.

Pancakes are actually a huge pain for a huge group, especially when you’re cooking in an opposite-of-huge kitchen. I could only make about 3 medium-sized pancakes at a time, and with a party of 14 or more, it was a huge problem. Why? Despite my best efforts,  they would get kind of rubbery sometimes, cool down, sometimes even soggy. Not a good look.

So, in an effort to find something more fun, quicker, easier, tastier and a one-shot-cook-it-all-at-once meal: my next adventure became the frittata.

I had never made a frittata, but I knew it was kind of like an omelet, only baked. So I wung it. Winged it? Wung it, i think – anyone know?

Anyway- here is what I did…

What I used: (Made for 2-3 servings)

– 2 whole eggs

– 6 egg whites

– 1 handful of baby spinach, chopped

– 1 tablespoon parmesan cheese

– 2 tables Hormel Bacon Pieces

– 2 tablespoons Fat Free Milk

 

What I Did:

Whisk 2 whole eggs, 6 egg whites and splash of milk in a bowl.

Add chopped baby spinach, bacon pieces, parmesan cheese. Stir until mixed.

Spray bread pan, or cupcake pans, generously with nonstick spray.

 

 

Pour mixture in to pan (If using cupcakes, each one should be about 2/3 full- you don’t need paper liners)

Bake at 375 degrees until they are firm on top. Make sure when you move the pan to take it out of the oven that there is no “jiggling”. Probably 8-12 minutes (varies by oven and how much of each ingredient you add)

 

 

Remove from oven and let set for 3-5 minutes.

 

 

 

 

 

 


Remove from pan, and serve with desired toppings and sides (I like greek yogurt, potato homefries, & green apples)

Substitutions:

Great thing about eggs is that there are so many possibilities when it comes to mix-ins! You could use any veggies, any cheese, any meat (or no meat!) that you desire. I’d like to try broccoli cheddar, ham and cheddar, turkey and goat cheese, and steak and mozzarella soon – I’ll keep you updated! 🙂

You could also substitute any kind of milk: Lactaid, Almond Milk, Soy Milk, whatever!

Toppings could vary from greek yogurt the way I did it, to more cheese, salsa, sour cream, or even some taco bell sauce if that’s your thing. Go crazy!

I was flattered when Phil skipped the taco bell sauce – even forgot it was on the table 🙂

The results: I really really love this! It is quick, easy, no precise measuring is needed, it tastes great, there’s tons of possibilities, it’s great for 1 person or for groups.... it’s official: I LOVE FRITTATAS.

Side Note: saying FRITTATAS outloud makes me think that they should do some kind of fundraiser with frittatas to “save the ta ta’s” Any takers? I’ll cater! Let me know 🙂

The results: We both loved it! It is light and fluffy, but hearty and filling (all that cheese, spinach and bacon!). The plain greek yogurt is a greak topping because it changes up the textures, adding the cool creaminess without adulterating the other flavors and textures all together. I can’t wait to have a need to make someone breakfast so I can try a new variety! 🙂

 

The situation: No, not Mike.. Mine. In Philly. Where I made the frittata. It was so easy to pack the ingredients, and being that we were staying in a suite, I had a GIGANTIC (compared to mine) kitchen to work in! It was great.. oh except that I used a pot for a bowl (see above) and had my boyfriend-with-bigger-biceps cut up the raw potatoes with a butter knife for the homefries. Grass is always greener ;). But this was fine and a great way for us to recharge after the gym and heading out to see more of Philly!


Leave a Reply

