Chocolate Almond Crunch

I write a blog, so of course I follow a bunch (it’s what makes the blog world go ’round). So one of the newest additions to my Google Reader is  Keep it Sweet by Lauren. She writes about how baking helps her to balance her busy life. I came upon her blog via Twitter when she posted about this almond butter cookie recipe.

So simple and SO delicious! I tweaked it a little (just based on what I had in my cabinet) and loved it so much I couldn’t wait to share it with you!

First things first: For those of you who don’t know (because I didn’t until semi-recently), Almond Butter is just like Peanut Butter, only made with.. yep, you guessed it, Almonds! I wrote about it a little not too long ago when I wrote about Almonds for Heart month, but now I’m using it in recipes! Just a note – sometimes when looking for it in the grocery store, it isn’t near the peanut butter, but rather near the “organic” section – I found mine near the Luna/Lara bars, Quinoa, Organic pasta, etc.

So here it goes..

What you’ll need: (for 6-8 cookies)

  • 1/2 c. Chunky Almond Butter (Barney Butter is my favorite)
  • 1/4 c. + 1 tblsp chocolate chips
  • 1 tblsp light brown sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 egg white

How to do it:

First melt 1 tablespoon of dark chocolate chips in a microwave safe bowl. Check on them frequently so they don’t burn. They won’t look completely melted,but when you stir them they will become uniform.

 

 

 

 

Mix melted chips with almond butter to make chocolate almond butter.

 

 

 

 

 

 

In a separate bowl whisk 1 egg white until frothy.

In yet another bowl, add the remaining ingredients besides the chocolate chips (brown sugar, salt, baking soda, vanilla).

 

 

Add the chocolate almond butter and whisked egg white.

 

Mix until uniform.

 

Fold in chocolate chips.

 

 

 

Line a baking sheet with wax or parchment paper and measure out batter with an ice cream scoop.

 

 

 

 

 

Bake at 350 degrees for about 8-10 minutes until they are just firm.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A tip: when baking, removing cookies from the pan and placing them on a brown paper bag helps to absorb the grease and oil 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

The results: Delicious! I was impressed. I was very, very skeptical of a flour-less cookie, but I’m not sure I’ll ever go back to flour! (Except maybe at Christmas time when we make wedding balls!)

I would have followed Lauren’s recipe exactly had I not already bought a few slightly different ingredients. I’m glad I had the chunky almond butter because the extra crunch from the almond pieces was great. (I love all different textures mixed together!) Dark chocolate is my favorite, so I’m glad I did that, too.

This is a great base and I’m excited to change it up a bit for next time!

4 thoughts on “Chocolate Almond Crunch

Leave a Reply

