Quickie Fiesta Chicken Wrap

What a cliche title for this meal if I ever saw one! But I didn’t know how else to describe it in 5 words or less! What do you think of when you think of the word “fiesta” in terms of food? Probably salsa, cheese, maybe meat/tomatos/corn/lettuce, etc. A Fiesta salad, Fiesta rice bowl, we all know what to expect when we hear a description like that. Therefore, cliche or not, it works. So I’m stickin’ to it: Quickie Fiesta Chicken Wrap, a quick and easy fiesta-inspired chicken wrap… or burrito.

I came home from class tonight around 9pm and was super hungry. My Wednesdays are crazy and therefore my eating schedule is all out of whack. Dinner at 9pm? Oh well. Anyway… I’m leaving for the weekend so I knew that the avocado I had in the fridge had to be eaten tonight, I had defrosted chicken, and there were a few tortillas left that I wanted to use up by Friday afternoon; that’s where the chicken wrap idea came from. The avocado reminded me of a Mexican meal I ate at a restaurant a week or so ago so I knew that it was going to be a topping. The salsa and jack cheddar cheese were the obvious additional ingredients, which then led to refried beans. The not-so-obvious: cajun seasoning.

What you’ll need (makes 1 serving)

– 1 large or 2 small tortillas (any kind you’d like!)

– 2 tblsp. fat free refried beans (or whole black beans if you have ’em!)

– 1 boneless, skinless chicken breast

– 2 tblsp. salsa

– 1 tsp. cajun seasoning

– 1 (or 2 or 3) tblsp. shredded cheddar jack chesse (any kind will do!)

– 1/2 an avocado

– salt & pepper

How to go about making it:

Spray your pan (grill pan if you have it) with non-stick spray, and pre-heat on medium-high.

Tenderize your meat and season with salt and pepper (about a teaspoon each) on both sizes.

Once the pan is preheated, add the chicken to the pan (you should hear it sizzle as it touches the pan, if not then it’s not hot enough yet)

 

 

Turn the heat down to medium, cover with a lid (it’s ok if the lid doesn’t cover completely).

 

Sprinkle with 1 tsp. cajun seasoning. Top with 1/2 tblsp salsa.

While that cooks, core and cut the avocado. (Click here for a how-to video)

 

 

 

Spread about 2 tablespoons of the refried beans on your tortilla. Heat in microwave for 30 seconds.

Once the edges of the piece of chicken are white, flip. (Yes, the salsa will slip and slide, that’s ok!)

 

 

Cook chicken for ~7 min total. Chicken is tricky and depends on the pan, stove, the cut, etc. There’s a fine line between cooked and over-done, but it’s better to be safe than sorry. If you’re unsure, cut at the thickest part to make sure it is white all the way through.

 

Once the chicken is cooked, transfer to a (clean) cutting board and cut in to strips or bite sized pieces.

 

Add chicken, 1 tablespoon of salsa and 1 tablespoon (or more if you’d like) cheese to the tortilla/beans. Top with sliced avocado, wrap it up and you’re ready to eat!

Substitutions:

Gluten-free: Check all of the other ingredients (esp. the cajun! I’m not sure about that) and sub romaine lettuce cups instead of the tortilla.

Dairy free: Skip the queso!

Vegetarian: You got it, no chicken! Sub tofu, mushrooms, cooked veggies, bean mix, whatever you want.

On the side: I mixed up the left over avocado with some salsa to make a “quick guac” and using carrots for dipping. Have to get in all the veggies!

 

 

The Results: I didn’t have very high expectations for this, but it was so so so so good! The cajun added a little extra kick and differentiated itself from the other ingredients adding its own flavor. As we know by now, I love all different textures, so the chicken, cheese, avocado, salsa and beans each had their own coming together in one deliciously cohesive bite after bite. It seems like every time I try to whip something up with ingredients I need to use up, I come up with new favorites! Don’t you love that?

I left class at 8:49pm and by 9:35 was putting my empty plate in the sink. Success all around, if I may say so myself. My kinda meal: quick, easy, no precise measuring needed, satisfying, filling, and oh so delicious!

 


 

Featured Product: Pathmark generic Traditional Gourmet Wraps.

They only have 90 calories, which is very low compared to most wraps! Not to mention the 12G of fiber, only 3G of fat, and 0G trans fat. But they tasted great! I ate them all week for lunch and tonight for dinner. They’re even better than most whole wheat (stiff, dry) wraps!

 

I love trying new products to mix up meals! Have you tried anything new lately? Anything you’re looking for that you’d like me to review? Let me know!

 

Is it a wrap or a burrito? What’s the difference? I think we generally think of wraps as being open on the ends, while burritos are folded nicely. Except that I feel like most breakfast burritos are open on the ends? Does it depend on the types of ingredients? What do you guys think? No cheating and looking it up in Wikipedia! 😉

One thought on “Quickie Fiesta Chicken Wrap

Leave a Reply

