T’licious

Here in Newark, DE there are tons of places to eat right on Main Street. A friend of mine and I were talking about it today, and for a college town, especially a college town in Delaware (as opposed to a university located in a big city) there is an impressive selection of places to eat. When I was an undergrad I used to think that one of my favorite spots to get coffee, lunch or hang and do work, T’licious, was UD’s best-kept-secret. I told everyone I knew about it but it seemed like it wasn’t as popular as it should have been. Not anymore! T’licious, a tiny, local cafe on Main Street, judging by the long line, loud chatter, and lack of available seating this morning, is finally getting the word out!

T’licious is a small cafe located on Main Street in the same building as one of the private bookstores, The Delaware Book Exchange. Despite their modest facade, the cafe boasts a rather extensive selection of food and drink items from bagels to flatbread pizzas to grilled cheese, to buffalo chicken salad. They have soups, many of their selections come with choice of side, but the tea, hence their namesake, is their claim to fame.

Any given day you are more than likely to see at least one student walking down main street with bubble tea. On a nice day, you’re bound to see many.

I tried bubble tea once as an undergrad and it was interesting, a great thing to try, but nothing to add to my list of regular indulgences. I tried the iced black tea with mango flavoring (they have tons of flavors to pick from!) and the tea itself was amazing, and the bubbles were just OK.

note: taken with my droid x cellphone

This morning I went in giving in to a craving I had for the black mango tea when I noticed the jellies. On the menu they have jellies everywhere they have bubbles, so I’m thinking they are a similar alternative. I’m not sure how long they’ve been on the menu, but I had never noticed them before and decided that today was the day to try them out.

I ordered the black iced tea with mango flavoring – my mouth is watering now as I write this, wishing I had one in hand – with the jellies. I asked the girl working behind the counter what they were and she said they are kind of like jello, she wasn’t sure what was in them exactly, but “they’re like candy, basically.”

 

I tried looking it up on the Internet on Amazon, Wikipedia, and just a standard Google search – didn’t find much of anything.

Here is what good ol’ Wikipedia had to say about bubble tea:

Bubble tea or foam tea, is a sweetly flavored tea beverage invented in Taiwan. Drink recipes may vary, but most bubble teas contain a tea base mixed with fruit (or fruit syrup) and/or milk. Ice blended versions of the drink are also available, usually in fruit flavors. Bubble teas usually contain small tapioca balls or pearls called “boba”. Pearls made of jelly are also available in many places. These teas are shaken to mix the ingredients, creating a foam on the top of some varieties, hence the name.

Well these jellies definitely weren’t tapioca. Drinking my tea through one of those huge straws (I MUST get my hands on some of those for my smoothies!) I was careful not to drink all of the jellies, so that once the tea was gone I could do a little investigating. And that’s exactly that I did.

After drinking all of the tea, I had a few mouths full of just the jellies. They look like little pieces of tofu, but just as the girl behind the counter said, they taste and feel like jello, but firmer. I would imagine that jello would dissolve in the tea after awhile – but the jellies didn’t.

Finally it dawned on me. Ever have Lifesaver Gummies? They are just like that! Not like guumy bears, because gummy bears are denser and more firm than the jellies. Lifesaver gummies are noticably softer. So imagine Lifesaver gummies cut up in to little squares and soaked in mango flavored black iced tea. Not too bad of a thought, right?

I am glad I tried it, and I may try it again.

What I will try again is their black mango iced tea. I just can’t get enough of it!

3 thoughts on “T’licious

  1. I always keep up with your blog – your writing is fantastic, you really draw me in. Plus, I learn something new every time! I’ve always wondered what Bubble Tea was – when I get to DE, I’ll have to stop in and visit T’Licious. 🙂

  2. I’m in Newark several times a month and I couldn’t agree more about the amazing places there are to eat. And lifesaver gummies are probably the best candy there is. Very well done.

  3. Pingback: Panera for Breakfast « eat something new

Leave a Reply

