My Take On A Chicken Gyro

Cedar’s Mediterranean Foods generously sent me vouchers to pick up a few of their products to review for this blog. I tried their wraps at my boyfriend’s parent’s house a few months ago, so I was already a huge Cedar’s fan.

This weekend I picked up a few of their products that I’ll be talking about a little here and there in upcoming posts. Today I’m going to talk about their Cucumber Garlic Tzatziki and their Fresh Taboule salad.

Unable to get my hands on Cedars’ wraps, I have some Mission whole wheat small tortillas in the frdige, along with some chicken. I wasn’t sure what to make for dinner, but then remembered I have a huge onion in the fridge, too.

 

I decided to start heating my grill pan with some oil and getting my onion going. Then I sliced up the chicken and got to thinking about what else to add. The tsatziki would be great spread on the tortilla topped with the chicken and onions. I sliced up a clove of garlic and added it to the onions, added salt and pepper, and then once the onions were looking pretty cooked I added the chicken, turned down the heat and let it cook.

 

In case you aren’t familiar with the wonderful tasty goodness that is Tsatziki sauce, here is what Wikipedia has to say about it..

 

Tzatziki, tzadziki, or tsatsiki (Greek: τζατζίκι [dzaˈdzici] or [dʒaˈdʒici]; English pronunciation: /zæˈdziːkiː/) is a Greekmeze or appetizer, also used as a sauce for souvlaki and gyros. Tzatziki is made of strained yoghurt (usually from sheep or goat milk) mixed with cucumbers, garlic, salt, usually olive oil, pepper, sometimes dill, sometimes lemon juice and parsley, and sometimes mint added.[1] Tzatziki is always served cold. While in Greece and Turkey the dish is usually served as an accompaniment, in other places tzatziki is often served with bread (loaf or pita) as part of the first course of a meal.

I added two pinches of red pepper flakes, the juice from half a lime and half a lemon, and lemon zest. Once the chicken looked like it was almost done I added a big handful of raw, baby spinach. I laid it right on top of the chicken and onions and covered the pan so it would steam.

Once it was ready I plated it atop the tzatziki on the tortilla, with Cedar’s Fresh Taboule Salad on the side, and was ready to eat.

DELICIOUS! The onions caramelized and teamed up with the olive oil to keep the chicken super moist. The fresh lemon and lime juice, lemon zest and fresh, cool tzatziki was the perfect balance to the whole wheat, chicken, spinach and spicy red pepper flakes. So many different textures and flavors that all came together wonderfully!

And if you decide to re-create this, you can add as much or as little of each that you’d like to create your ultimate flavor balance.

Substitutions:

  • Sub lettuce wraps for gluten-free (I may even do that another night this week!)
  • Vegetarian? No problem. Skip the chicken and mix in extra veggies.
  • The other ingredients can all be switched out based on other needs or preferences. Feel free to shoot me an e-mail if you need ideas are unsure about something! (eatsomethingneweveryday@gmail.com)

 

Cedar’s

Their cucumber garlic Tzatziki sauce is second only to fresh homemade. The tiny pieces of cucumber were few and far between, adding a little crunch without ruining the overall smooth texture. It was just thick enough and had a really great taste! if I can find it, this will be the one I pick from now on!

The Fresh Taboule salad was good. Not great. It smells delicious, and the first bite hit me.. hard. The initial parsely flavor is a little much. Ingredients are almost always listed with the first ingredient making up the largest percentage of the recipe and in descending order from there. Parsley was the first ingredient; maybe it should have been second or third. The flavor was good, I finished my side, and I’ll finish off the container this week, I would just prefer a little less parsley.

3 thoughts on “My Take On A Chicken Gyro

  1. Pingback: Eat Something New: 2 New Posts « brittany e richter, e-portfolio

  2. Pingback: My Big Fat Greek Salad « eat something new

Leave a Reply

