My Big [low in] Fat Greek Salad

Just as I mentioned in my post about My Take on a Chicken Gyro, representatives at Cedar’s generously sent me several vouchers so that I could try their products free of charge. I had already tried their wraps and loved them, so trying out some of their other products was exciting, and they did not disappoint!

I tried their Horseradish hummus and love it! A definite must-buy-again for me. Looking over the different flavors, the man suggested I try this one since it was different, and isn’t offered by most (if not all) of the other hummus brands I see in stores where I shop. A great idea, because it is very tasty! The horseradish flavor isn’t overwhelming, which I was worried about, it’s just subtle enough to know that its there.

I also picked up their tzatziki and Taboule which I wrote about in the gyro recipe. I didn’t want to make the gyro 6 more times in order to use up the ingredients, I wanted to try something new (imagine that). The man (if you haven’t been reading along “the man” is how I now refer to my boyfriend) – suggested that I put the Taboule in a salad. I was skeptical at first, but thought that the bold flavor, when mixed with other ingredients in a nice entree sized salad, would actually be a great idea – and I gotta give it to him, he was right! (again!)

Here is what I used:

  • 2 handfuls raw baby spinach
  • 1 tablespoon feta cheese
  • 1 teaspoon red onion, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon Cedar’s Fresh Taboule Salad
  • 1 serving grilled, boneless, skinless chicken breast
  • 6 Stacy’s Pita Chips, broken
  • 1 tablespoon Ken’s Steakhouse Lite Balsamic Vinaigrette
  • Salt & fresh ground black pepper, to taste
  • (Cooking spray or olive oil for pan to cook chicken)

The Process:

1.  The first step is the cook the chicken. Preheat your oiled or sprayed down pan (grill pan in my case) on high. Pound, tenderize and season both sides of your chicken breasts with salt and pepper. Leave it at one large piece, or cut it up, your choice. Once the pan is nice and hot (you should hear a sizzle when the chicken hits the pan) place your chicken in the pan and sear on both sides for about 30 seconds each. Once the outside of the chicken is slighly browned on both sides, turn the heat down to low and cover (preferably with a clear lid so you can monitor). The key to most meats is cooking low and slow so that the meat comes out nice and juicy. Once cooked through, remove from eat and cut in to desired size pieces.

2. While the chicken is cooking you can prepare the rest of the salad. Combine all of the ingredients above. Yep, that’s it! When the chicken is ready, add it to the salad, give it a toss, and you are good. to. go.

I have to tell you – this is one of my new

favorites! I love love love the different textures from the spinach, feta, chicken, taboule and the crunchy, crunchy pita chips! Since the dressing is light and doesn’t mask the flavors they all have a chance to shine separately making each bite different and super flavorful. I am a huge fan of this salad!

Try making this salad as a side to go along with the gyro! This is what we did this past weekend, and it was a very, very satisfying meal!

Stacy’s pita chips are, believe it or not, pretty high up there on my list of favorite foods. I absolutely love the “Naked” chips that only have sea salt on them. Perfect for dipping in to hummus, tzatziki, salsa, cheese, you name it! In this salad, all broken up, they served as croutons that gave a great crunch in addition to all of the other textures and flavors. I highly recommend these! (And no, I did not receive any of these for free in any form – just one of my favorites!)

One thought on “My Big [low in] Fat Greek Salad

  1. Yum, this looks tasty. To be honest, I never have feta cheese in my fridge, but I’m thinking I should start stocking it!

    I eat a lot of grilled chicken over salad these days, and this is on my list of new varieties to try!

Leave a Reply

