Pump it up! Starbucks’ Mocha Coconut Frappuccino!

Sounds like a strange title, I know.. but stick with me – it will be well worth it, I promise.

A few weeks ago I was walking through Penn station, waiting to catch the next train on the LIRR and had some time to kill. As I looked around at all of the choices for where to spend my time (and money) I spotted a sign outside of the Starbuck‘s that read “Frappuccino Happy Hour. Half priced Frappuccinos!” Right below this exclamation was a picture and the title of a new drink: The Mocha Coconut Frappuccino. Chocolate, coffee, coconut and iced beverages are on my list of  favorite things so I was extremely excited about this happy hour. I got in line and ordered my drink but it wasn’t until later that I remembered a tip I read on one of my favorite blogs – The New Healthy – about the number of pumps- but I’ll get to that in a second. (see where the title is coming from now?)

As you know, I still treat myself to things, but if I can eliminate some of what I think is excess fat and calories, I absolutely will.  To the right here is a screen shot of the nutritional information for my drink based on the calculator on the Starbucks website .Not too too  bad for such a decadent treat- but you should notice that I did not get the whipped cream, and I asked for nonfat milk. I could have cut even more calories had I remember the 1 pump rule! Stefanie over at The New Healthy is an iced coffee fan much like myself and has often written about asking for a certain number of pumps. If you have no idea what I’m talking about, then I will tell you that the flavors often come from syrups, which are dispensed from bottles with pumps on them. More syrup = more calories, unless you often for sugar free. If you’re not asking about their sugar-free options and are going for a drink like this Mocha Coconut Frappuccino, then I would suggest asking for only 1 or 2 pumps of syrup. If more than one flavor is used, which is the case here, then asking for just one of each will limit the amount of syrup and thus calories and fat.

Now, if you’re concerned about the flavor that will result – fear not! I would argue that the Mocha Coconut Frappuccino, although tasty, was way too sweet. I don’t like to feel as though the sugar is actually taking up residence on my teeth. It would have been more enjoyable had I asked for fewer pumps of flavor. With that said – this is a must-try drink! I love the flavor combination, especially in an iced drink, and  the toasted coconut sprinkled on top was a very nice touch!

Dunkin Donuts or Starbucks?

What’s your favorite drink?

Your favorite seasonal drink?

Do you go sugar-free or the one-pump route?

4 thoughts on “Pump it up! Starbucks’ Mocha Coconut Frappuccino!

  1. Thanks for the shout-out girl – the pump trick is a great way to reduce cals! Actually, I’ve been getting an iced coffee with soy milk + 2 pumps of coconut! That way, I get the delicious coconut without all the sugar in the blended drink. 🙂

  2. I just got an iced coffee with coconut syrup the other day! I forgot to specify the number of pumps, however. Great post. Loving the blog and glad I came across it. Do you know how many cals are in each pump?

  3. I worked at a coffee shop for about seven years in Greenlawn and made my own version of this drink-definitely less pumps the better! (we called them “icescrapers” instead of frapp’s) – if you want the nutty taste but not in the mood for coconut ask them to flavor your frapp with hazelnut and mocha, or even just the hazelnut- delicious! 🙂

  4. Stefanie- No problem! And yes, iced coffee with sugar-free or 1-2 pumps is my usual, too 🙂 This was a special traveling-and-its-happy-hour treat! Thanks for the tip! Borderline life changing, based on the amount of coffee I consume :).

    Roo- good ideas! I’ll try that!

    “The Delicious Life” – good question! Thanks for commenting!! 🙂 This is the best thing I came up with when I searched for the answer:

    “One “pump” of flavoring from syrups with sugar has about 5 grams of carb and 20 calories. Usually 3 of these “pumps” are put into a 12 oz coffee drink, 4 into a 16 oz drink, and 5 into a 20 oz drink. So adding flavored syrup can add 25 grams of carbohydrate and 100 calories to a large drink. On the other hand, sugar-free syrups don’t add any carbs or calories. ”
    (http://lowcarbdiets.about.com/od/whattoeat/a/coffeecarbs.htm)

Leave a Reply

