Summer Salad Series [Review]: Buffalo Shrimp Salad at Kildare’s Newark

Kildare’s Buffalo Shrimp Salad

I have dreams about this salad. And I wish I was kidding. I was out with friends for someone’s birthday and the dinner spot chosen was Kildare’s. Now, Kildare’s isn’t my favorite place for food. I love the atmosphere and all of the amazing beers on tap, and their french onion soup and nachos are good. Don’t get me wrong, there’s nothing wrong with the rest of the food, it’s just not my cup of tea, if you will. Not bad, I just don’t prefer it. However, last summer I tried their Chicken Cobb Salad and absolutely LOVED it, so I thought I would get that again.

Looking over the salads on the menu I noticed a different salad, the Buffalo Shrimp Salad and was intrigued. So i ordered it.


It starts with a bed of iceberg lettuce with shredded celery and carrot sticks (very clever, I think) and topped with buffalo shrimp and crumbled blue cheese, I got the dressing on the side (and never even needed it!).

I went back 2 weeks later and got it again. That’s how good it is.

For starters, the shrimp is cooked perfectly. Shrimp can be tricky like chicken and get tough and dry very easily, but not at Kildare’s! It was lightly breaded and fried and the buffalo sauce was delicious without being overpowering or too wimpy. A very good balance of taste and heat, something I always look for when it comes to buffalo sauce.

The iceberg lettuce made me skeptical since I’ve never really been a fan. However, the light, fresh taste and insane crunch were perfect in the salad – all traits that Romaine lacks. The shredded celery and carrots – absolutely genius – added even more crunch and freshness to balance the buffalo. The blue cheese crumbles were fresh and acted like a dressing, eliminating the need altogether. And no dressing means that all of the other flavors have a chance to shine on their own.

This salad is spicy, refreshing and salty all at the same time. An absolute must-try if you go to Kildare’s for a meal!

2 thoughts on “Summer Salad Series [Review]: Buffalo Shrimp Salad at Kildare’s Newark

  1. Just a little side note – I know that this is Romaine lettuce in this picture. The first time I had it, it was iceberg. It was just as delicious with both! 🙂

Leave a Reply

